Birthday musings

Today I am blessed to celebrate 45 years of living a wonderful life.  Some of you reading this are shocked.  Yes I did say 45 years.  It is not a typo.  Though I do not regularly advertise my age, it is certainly nothing that I am ashamed of.  I was blessed with genes that make others not able to guess my age.  Though I know that this can be a source of pride, it is honestly something that I have nothing to do with.  So yes, I’m 45.  Yes I look younger than my age.  Ok, moving on.

I have several really good friends who will not be here to share this birthday with me.  They died too soon in our 30’s.  Though not something I discuss a lot, the death of my high school friend, Towanda, and my college roommate, Krista, made me realize that life is precious and  valuable.  I also realized through their illnesses that one’s health is one of our greatest assets.   Thus three years ago I took a good long look at my body, decided I did not like what I saw, and got thee to the gym.  Now, I’m still not exactly where I would like to be, but I realize that taking care of my body and attempting to eat a healthy diet will aid (prayerfully) in extending my life while enhancing the quality of it.

Exercise has many benefits other than helping your body look better.  It is a great mood regulator.  Over the past three years I have endured what many would consider a lot of MAJOR stressors.  I don’t look at it this way.  I consider it living.  We all have crosses to bear and most people’s walk isn’t any better or worse than anyone else’s.  It just depends on the time period you are examining.

My birthday is a bittersweet event for me.  I have always thought that my birthday was the equivalent of Christmas.  No folks, I never thought I was the second coming of Christ, but I mean that in terms of the level of excitement that it generates for me.   5 years ago I was awakened by a very early morning call advising that my stepfather (read father from henceforth) had passed away.  What was to be an exciting 40th birthday weekend was suddenly changed.  I did not mind this not as much as one would think.  My father’s birthday is just two days before mine and we always had a very deep understanding of and connection to one another.  To me, it  was actually a little fitting.

Since that time, however, I have struggled to regain the sense of joy I always felt surrounding my birthday.  I think I am finally almost back to home base.  I celebrated my father on his birthday and today I am ready to celebrate me.

So,  I lift my glass in toast to me- the woman I am and the woman I am still becoming.  The day I cease being a work in progress will be the day I die.  There is always room for improvement but there is also always cause for celebration.  I thank you, in advance, for being in my life in whatever way has caused you to take the time to read these musings and I wish you peace, happiness, and prosperity in whatever order you currently need them.

God Bless you and Mazel Tov,    *clink*

Spread love….peace and blessings.

8 thoughts on “Birthday musings

  1. First of all: 45!?!?! If I look like you at 45 I will dance in the streets.

    2nd my dad’s birthday is 3 days after mine! So uncanny.

    3rd hope you have a wonderful day. You are always so cheerful and optimistic. You deserve it.

    • Thank you but you are holding it down pretty well on your own Ms. Fly Girl. I appreciate all of your comments and wish you an early happy birthday for tomorrow.

  2. Pretty awesome there Lady!! You are awesome & I am encouraged by your writings! And even tho we speak every once in awhile, I do think of you often! Enjoy to the fullest & celebrate LIFE!! Muah!

  3. Yes, you are truely FAB-U-LUS at 45 and it is diffinetly in your genes and because you Live Life and Love. Peace and Blessings for the rest of your days.

  4. Celebrate yourself girl. I hope this day brings you much happiness and may the excitement you once looked forward to on this day be waiting just around the corner.

  5. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your special day with us. I toast to you and wish you many, many more special. Keep up the great work and ya looking good girlie! Salud! VA

Leave a Reply

