Open to the Possibilities

Tomorrow I am embarking on the most unusual of experiences for me.  I am going to visit friends out-of-town for the weekend.

So this sounds innocent enough Tee, you say.  What is the big deal?  The deal is that of all the people I will meet/hang/kick-it with this weekend I have only personally met ONE of them prior to this trip!

Aha, the plot thickens!  You see I am going to my adopted city to hang with my tweeties (my twitter buddies for the unindoctrinated).  Now all of you know that I am a fully grown woman, in full possession of her faculties, with a pretty good head on her shoulders so what am I doing?

I am going to meet my friends.  People whom I know with various degrees of familiarity through an internet vehicle known as twitter.  These are people I have had private, yes private, conversations with either verbally or in writing.  I know who they are, how they think, what they do for a living, where they hang out, who their friends are, what their insecurities are and basically what makes them tick and yes their phone numbers.  🙂

When I arrived in Tallahassee, Florida over 20 years ago to attend my beloved Florida A&M University I learned one important lesson right off the bat- people do not universally think the same.  It was easy to distinguish who was from the north versus the south, the east versus the midwest, small town versus big city, the west coast versus anywhere just based on the way they presented their thoughts.  At that time I learned to open myself to new possibilities.  I learned that I absolutely ADORE anyone from the state of Ohio (I mean this to this day) and that most people from Chicago were really cool.

So as I pack to leave on my new adventure, I am open to the possibilities that my new friends will be even more interesting and exciting than I already think they are; that I will have a great time in a city I have visited only once in the past; and that the love I try to spread daily will be returned to me.

Sometimes in our “old age” we let our “maturity” make us stodgy.  The world is changing folks whether you choose to change with it or not.  Our former ways of communicating, interacting, and meeting people is changing.  Don’t be so quick to judge.  Be open to the possibilities.  I’ll tell what a great time I had when I return.

Oh, and lest we forget- I am still celebrating my birthday.  Yippee!!!

Spread love…peace and blessings.

5 thoughts on “Open to the Possibilities

  1. Yaay!!!! Im glad Im one of ur new friends!!! See you tomm…@geegee121 is my twitter handle… lol!! I had to pub myself!

  2. Yay!
    Have a great time. We’ve become better friends from FB and you told me about your fabulous tweeties. I know you are going to have a wonderful time. I can’t wait to hear all about it. TAKE PICTURES! (You know I am big on that.)

    -Damali

  3. LOVE IT! =) I really hope it works out (my student REALLY gets it) so I can come out tomorrow!
    I just love how technology has opened our lives to wonderful people that due to geography we might not have gotten a chance to meet.

  4. Wth was I thinking!!! I should be going with you!! Have fun lady! Wish I was w/ya! Tell Kat hey for me! And take lots of pictures!

Leave a Reply

