Letting Go

At certain points in our life we come to the point where we have to let go of certain ideas/ideals.  It’s not a matter of whether they are good ideas, it is a matter of whether they are good for us.   One of the hardest things, in my experience, has been to let go of that idea which was always thought to be good and has been long-held.  Yesterday I took such a step.

I realized that an idea I was holding onto was to my detriment.  Well actually, if I’m honest I have known it for a some time now but have not been mentally prepared to do what I knew I needed to do.  Well yesterday was the day.  Somehow the significance of Valentine’s Day, with my emphasis on loving myself, gave me the incentive I needed to “get ‘er done.”

So as I sat in silence while my children’s dinner was baking I thought about it.  Really spent a few minutes meditating on whether this dream was worth maintaining.  As I became stronger and stronger in my knowledge of the truth,  I imagined this thought as having weight, matter and  I physically used my hands to shape it into a ball.  Once it was wrapped up tight, I kissed this thought, now bound  in my hands (yes physical kissed), and then I opened my hands and blew it away.  Sent it into the air.  I LET IT GO!!!

I can not begin to tell you the sense of freedom and peace that came over me.  I felt as if a weight had been lifted.  Something that  I thought was a good idea had actually been weighing me down. Perhaps because for some time the thought had not been filling me with great joy.  Well the thought of the concept filled me with joy but the reality of the concept playing out was not so joyful.  Hard to understand I know, but you have to trust me on this one.

So I ask you to take a look through your mental closet.  Are there certain thoughts, dreams, notions that you are hanging onto though their time has long passed?  Is it more comfortable to let things continue hanging there rather than face the truth.  They don’t  fit; they are out of style; you will never wear that again.   I encourage you to pull these things down and get rid of them.  They have no reason to keep taking up valuable space.  It is not easy and thinking about it is not fun.  I’m going to ask you to trust me on this one though- the results are life changing.  This will not be the last item I clean out of my mental closet but it was definitely taking up the most space.

I’m not saying I’m 100% cured, but 99% is safe to say.  So the notion is gone.  One I’ve held onto for almost half of my life.  In a sense I feel that something is missing, and quite honestly it is.  But that something is not what I need.  It serves me no good.  It makes me better in no way and obviously was not life enhancing.

I’d love to hear about your experiences with this exercise.  Please share your stories.

Spread love…peace and blessings.

3 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. Letting go has been a big part of my marriage. I’m not going to be able to hang out all night and party and other things. That is for a past lifetime. I still a DJ and do a radio show and some other things (because that came with the package of me being a DJ) but other things I have to let go. I just don’t have the time… It is a good thing though! I have a family now!

Leave a Reply

