Mind, Body and Soul

If there’s one thing I am totally convinced of it is that we MUST take care of ourselves- mind, body and soul.  This is one of those adages that  we all know, but not all of us put it into place.   We make other things  priority.  We understand that we must work in order to pay bills and live comfortably so for many of us work is our top priority.  Others of us may exercise, but we spend little time, regardless of religious beliefs,  nurturing our spiritual selves.  We are all probably guilty of watching too much television- especially the mindless “reality” type and far less time reading.  We spend countless hours per day engaged in internet activity, but how much of it is for our own edification? Why don’t we do it?  The most common response is “I don’t have the time.”  I understand that.   Believe me I do.  We are all pressed for time and those with children are often juggling individual schedules along with those of their children.  But, the bottom line is we must take care of ourselves.

I don’t know the statistics, but it appears to me that the number of people suffering from mental illness/depression seems to be growing exponentially.  I know the number of medications to treat such is definitely growing if frequency of advertising is any indication.  As a person who has very personal experience with mental illness, I know that the disorders are a result of a chemical imbalance.  I know that some people appear to be more susceptible to depression than others.  Those most at risk seem to be  those who live a life engrossed in their own “stuff.”  It is through doing and serving others that we are able to see beyond our own box.  It is part of the reason why dogs are taken into nursing homes.  The pets give the elderly residents something to focus on other than themselves and that this thing which also comes bearing love is a much-needed benefit.  That’s the mind…

One of the areas where most of us neglect ourselves the most is in the area of the body.  We don’t get the regular preventative medical attention that we should.  We figure “I’m alright” and again “I don’t have time” to go to the doctor’s office if I’m not ill.  We fail to exercise regularly.  We eat improperly.  All of you reading are well aware of the fact that America has some of the most overweight people on the planet.  Yes we are one of the wealthiest nations but we eat in large quantities and do not exercise.  On this matter, the solution is simple.  Make the time now or be forced to take it later when you are suffering from the results of your choices in your younger years.  Within the past couple of months I have known of at least 4 people requiring  joint replacement surgery.  All of these persons are overweight.  These are people I know well and love, but our joints are not designed to carry excessive amounts of weight and still perform their necessary functions.  Exercise, in this case, in helpful in two ways- it helps to keep our weight down and helps to strengthen our joints.  A large number of joint replacements are due to arthritis.  While there is no prevention of arthritis, regular exercise helps to alleviate the symptoms to some degree which may help minimize the need for surgery.

Lastly, one of the biggest ways we neglect ourselves is by taking not care of our souls.  The purpose of A Cup of Cheer is not religious based and it is not my intention to tell you who or what to believe in.  I, however,  believe in God and that God is still I Am regardless of what he is called by what religion.  So in my book, as long as you recognize a power greater than yourself that resides in all of us you are alright with me.  Some of us get caught up though.  We forget that we are not the god of the universe.  We think that the world revolves around us and that we must make everything happen.  I totally believe that our thoughts can influence our environment but I also understand that I alone can not stop a tremendous earthquake from happening or evil from occurring around me.   Getting in touch with the spiritual side of yourself is essential.  Spend some time in quiet reflection daily if possible. Write in a journal.  Allow the God spirit that is within  you to actually guide you.  It is there for that purpose.  We must just quiet ourselves enough so that we can hear it.  Taking this time is freeing.  It grounds your thoughts, soothes your self and is directly correlated to the health of both the mind and body.

I know this entry is long and I appreciate you taking the time to read it.  There are signs all around that we need to rebalance ourselves in order to settle the world in which we live.  I urge you to spend time thinking about what you can do to take care of yourself.  Everybody needs to take care of every body.

Spread love…peace and blessings.

Leave a Reply

