Finding Cheer Where There Is None

Every once in a while everyone gets to the point where life’s circumstances kind of weigh you down a bit.  Even if you are a normally cheerful person, you may find that a combination of events can steal a little of that cheer and try to take you to darker places.  It is at those times when who you  truly are will rise to the surface.  You can give in to the gloom of those moments, or make the effort to continue to look at all the beauty in life.

I will be the first to admit that I am currently in one of those periods.  More importantly I am aware that this period of challenge will last for longer than a moment or two.  Compound that with the additional challenge of being “there” for a number of friends who are either ill or suffering the loss of a close relative and well, it can be a little bit much.

Can be…but, here is what I’ve decided to point out to myself (changes daily but this is today’s list):

1.  Every day above ground is  a blessing.

2. The sun is shining, flowers are in bloom, birds are singing, Spring is here.

3.  I am healthy have not had so much as a cold in over three years, I have  a wonderful trainer who is helping me transform my body, my gym is one of my sanctuaries.

4.  My children act and behave as children today do, but they love me unconditionally, are excellent students, are goal oriented, and try hard to do the “right” thing.  I can’t ask for much more.

5.  I have a family who cares about and supports me even if they don’t always agree with me, and more importantly when the rubber meets the road they always come through.

6.  I am blessed.  What I consider challenges are a good day to some people.  I am so aware that many people have far greater challenges than I.  I say a prayer for relief  for them and of thanksgiving for me.

7.  Life is not designed for us to breeze through it.  If a person appears untouched by challenges their “turn” may just not have come yet. Don’t look to trade tragedies or triumphs with another.  Your tragedies and triumphs are uniquely yours.  If you recognize that they serve a positive purpose, they are a lot easier to tolerate.   Remember nothing is so bad that it can’t get better.  When you get to that point, you will MOST CERTAINLY know it.  Until then, enjoy life.

This is this week’s list for me.  Thank you for indulging me on what is an extremely personal post.  You may see more.  As I mentioned this season will not be short-lived.  I welcome the lessons it shall bring and know that I will emerge on the other side triumphant and better for having gone through the process.

"Never cut a tree down in the wintertime. 
Never make a negative decision in the low
time. Never make your most important 
decisions when you are in your worst moods.
Wait. Be patient.The storm will pass.
The spring will come." -- Robert H. Schuller 
 
Spread love... peace and blessings. 
3 thoughts on “Finding Cheer Where There Is None

  1. Tee, this is such a wonderful post. And, I am sure that MANY of us have been able to relate… throughout the various seasons of our lives! Thank you for sharing!

    As always, your candor IS much appreciated,sis. 🙂

  2. I thought I was the only one who made these weekly lists. (smile)…It does so much to keep me thankful and grounded and encouraged….You, my dear sister, are a light…..

Leave a Reply

