Be the Captain of Your Own Ship

OUT of the night that covers me,

Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

Invictus- William Ernest Henley

Sometimes we all need just a little bit of a reminder.  Each individual should completely comprehend and embrace the notion that the only person who is responsible for your life and how it turn out is you.  That’s right.  We may come from less than desirable backgrounds, life may have dealt us a bad hand,  fate may seem to be conspiring against us, but ultimately how we live our life is on us.

You can let life knock you down or you can take the bull by the horns and hold on for the ride- eventually gaining enough control to dictate the path instead of just being along for the ride.  We have all heard the old adage “life is 10% what you make it and 90% how you take it.”  It’s true.  At some point in life highly successful people decide that they have to design for themselves the life they wish to live.  Yes, I said that properly.  You design for yourself the life you wish to live.  It is more than possible.  You have to see it, believe that it can happen and through work wait for it to fall into place.  Seeing and believing is not enough.  There is action required on your part.

That is the macro part of the story.  Last week I read on twitter the micro version of it  “I’m finding out that when someone is trying to drive you crazy, get out of the car. I drive myself everywhere else so why should I let someone else drive me there?”  This was a status of  Melissa Simpson who I was not acquainted with prior to this post.  Yet, upon reading that statement I thought “how brilliant” because it is.  And what makes it brilliant is the simplicity of the statement.  In this 21st century there are many people who are, well quite honestly, control freaks who are driven to succeed.  Within the confines of that drive, very structured lives are led.  Yet, many people, when things start to go awry with another person, state that said person is “driving them crazy.”

I am one who is quite familiar with the usage of said phrase.  It probably rolls effortlessly off my tongue at least once daily, I had to pause for a second and think “Melissa that is true.”  In many areas of my life I am fully aware that I am in control.  This ship travels in the direction in which I steer it.  But oddly enough, when I want to get pouty because I am distracted  and not fully focussed on managing my own life,  then someone else is “driving me crazy.”   Hmmm…. let’s be honest here.  The truth is that I do “drive myself everywhere else.”  Some random person on the expressway is not driving me crazy because they wont drive 15 miles above the posted speed as I wish them to.  I am driving me crazy because I procrastinated in getting out of the house, am anal about arriving anywhere late, and didn’t take the time to properly map out the directions.  So this senior citizen driving at or slightly below the posted speed limit is not driving me crazy.  I have to own the good and the bad about myself, and the truth is on this day I did not plan properly.  But this life is being charted by me.  The vessel is driven by me.  The spoils of the victory will be mine for “I am the captain of my fate.  I am the master of my soul.”  Let’s fully own this notion as we should, accept life’s lessons as the universe displays them to us, and move forward toward our best life taking full responsibility for ourselves and our charting/steering abilities.

Spread love…peace and blessings.

 

4 thoughts on “Be the Captain of Your Own Ship

  1. LOVE the use of “Invictus” at the beginning!! I’ve read this twice and have decided that I also use the phrase “driving me crazy” too often in my personal lexicon. So, I am joining the movement, because like you said, eventually I am in control of my life.

Leave a Reply

