Miles To Go Before I Sleep

Stopping By Woods On a Snowy Evening – Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

A few days ago I stopped to take inventory.  I took a look at all of the goals that I have yet to achieve and had to have a little heart to heart with myself.   Sometimes we have to do an honest assessment and within that I have to admit that I am not in my twenties with “my whole life ahead of me.”  The truth of the matter is I have already lived about half of life.  That being said, I have a LOOONG laundry of things on my To Do list and I have every intent upon accomplishing them.  So what is the plan?

Well obviously I have to become less intimately acquainted with procrastination and more closely associated with focus.  Determination and I need to become much better friends.  Positive self-image and knowledge of self are about to be in bed with me nightly.

Here’s the point.  It is never too late to take a moment to reassess and refocus.  The dreams we hold are attainable or God wouldn’t give them to us.  If the idea is there you can do it.  It is just a matter of doing the work to put together the ideas, do the research, and then as they say “let the magic happen.”  Last week I was hit with several pieces of disappointing news on the same day.  While I could have taken the opportunity to host a small pity party, I realized, instead, that I was being afforded the gift of additional time.  More time to work on what I’m called to do and not what I should do.  Gifts should not go unused or to waste.  Thus I told myself  “Tee it’s time to get your act together. You need to do some more research and then do what you need to do to make your dream happen.”  You see these items shall be accomplished.

“But I’m getting old” is not a proper response.  Age is a function of the mind.  I do not know what my lifespan is, but I know that I have less time than a twenty year old.  So,  I trudge forth with determination and renewed energy to get it all in because the fact of the matter is “I have promises (to myself) to keep and miles to go before I sleep… and miles to go before I sleep.”

Spread love…peace and blessings.

2 thoughts on “Miles To Go Before I Sleep

  1. Grandma Moses didn’t start painting until her 70s…it’s NEVER too late to change…to take a new road…to evolve and re-emerge!! You CAN do it!!

Leave a Reply

