The Man In The Mirror (In honor of MJ on his birthday)

“It was the best of times.  It was the worst of times.”

We have to face and good and bad times in life.  We have all have hurdles/challenges to overcome.  Some of us, for whatever reason, face greater challenges than others.  Operating at your highest /best self is easy to do in the best of times.  Life is good.  Everything is going your way.  The question is what type of person are you when beset with challenge upon challenge?  Or maybe just one challenge or disappointment? Do you continue to operate at your highest level or do you let the worst in you come roaring forth? I contend that the person who comes forth in trying to situations gives the best picture of who you really are.  The person you may work to cover up in good times.  Or perhaps, you are consistently wonderful and who doesn’t love that? Either way, the answer is very telling.

We all like to think that everyone sees us in the best possible light but ask yourself a few honest questions:

1.  When times are bad for others am I the last person they call?  There could be many reasons why this occurs, but one of those reasons may be that those people see your personality in trying times as less than exemplary.

2.  In trying times are you a calming force to be around or one who stirs the pot even more and gets others further agitated?   Have you ever noticed that some people can walk into a room full of chaos and bring peace to all present?  I am always so impressed when I see this at work and think to myself how great of a positive force this person is.

3. Can people easily “knock you off of your square?”  Does the smallest thing get you riled up?  Do you find yourself saying repeatedly “I try not to go there but they always make me.”  Please recognize that no one makes you act in any particular way.  The choice is always yours.

4.  Can everyone always tell when bad things are  going on in your life either because you advertise the fact to the world or because your disposition becomes so unpleasant when you are facing undue stress?

The answer to the these questions are between you and yourself.  🙂  And what you think of the answers is also on you.  If however, you ask yourself these questions and are bothered by the answers I encourage you to spend some time working on meditation, behavior control, and peace finding exercises.  None of us is perfect by far but I know the person I want to both be and be perceived as.  As I drifted off to sleep last night I heard the words of the Hezekiah Walker gospel song playing in my head “I won’t harm you with words from my mouth.  I love you.  I need you to survive.”  I understood what the message was immediately.  With one person in particular I ALLOW myself to say hurtful things.  I need to stop that.  Not for that person at all, but for me because I am a better person than that and allowing myself to stoop to that level is unacceptable.   Again none of us is perfect but that realization put this blog on my heart.  You can always be the person you want to be, even if you are not that person now.  Sometimes it requires a lot of work and self-examination.  You may already have evolved into a great person.  Others benefit from knowing you.  They may also benefit from you showing them how to get there as well.  As always I would love to hear your thoughts.

Spread love… peace and blessings.

One thought on “The Man In The Mirror (In honor of MJ on his birthday)

  1. Quick question with regard to #1…how would you know if you were the last person the affected person called?? 🙂

    This is good stuff…you know I especially like the part about owning your reaction, i.e. “make me go there”. Ppl always use that as a cop-out in a poor attempt to justify what is often aberrant behavior on their part.

    This is also one of my favorite MJ tunes…his performance of this song on the Grammys moved me to tears. No, I’m not ashamed to put that on the http://WWW…I‘m not scurred, either!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

