When Is The Best Time To Do Something? When You REALLY Don’t Want to Do It.

I have a task before me.  It is daunting. It has heavy consequences.  It is not fun to do,  but it is necessary.  I have begun the task but find it difficult to resume.  I don’t like it and I just DON’T REALLY WANT TO DO IT.  You know what that means?  Now is the absolute best time to “get er done.”  Why so you ask? Because right now the task itself is becoming bigger than what it represents.  It is a huge boulder block in my mind.  It is my mountain and I need to tell it to get out of my way.  How do I do that?  By getting it done.

If you’ve ever read me at all, you know I look for the lessons in life.  I see several here.  I am not perfect and have not fully learned them.  OBVIOUSLY, or they wouldn’t be presenting themselves at the time.   So let’s look at the lessons.

1.  Procrastination (one of my biggest flaws) will not make a undesireable situation go away.  It only prolongs it. The only way to get rid of an unpleasant task is to get it out the way by quickly completely.  This is akin to eating the thing you like least on your place first (a lesson we try to instill in children) so you can get it out of way and get to what you enjoy.

2.  There are some things in life that we just will not want to do.  The price seems a little steep to pay.  It is something that is mentally overwhelming for us.  You know what has an even steeper price? Incompletion.  Some things absolutely must be done.  There is no way to avoid them. Whether we like it or not, this thing requires action.  If it is not illegal or impossible, we just need to get on with it.  Some penalties are much steeper than the high price.  Ask the IRS if you want a little confirmation on this theory.

3.  When all else fails, talk to a wise, motivating friend who can get you on your way.  Perhaps they can dangle a carrot that is worth reaching for or just shed a little intelligent light on the subject.  The only thing I don’t want you to do is talk to them for too long.  This only prolongs the inevitable.

4.  Sometimes the best reward is in just getting something done.  There is nothing else to be gained, but you will know that you moved the mountain.

 

There is probably more that can be said here, but you know what?  I’ve got work to do…

 

Spread love… peace and blessings

One thought on “When Is The Best Time To Do Something? When You REALLY Don’t Want to Do It.

  1. I had this very thought this morning when I was thinking of something that needs to be done in our house. Sometimes you gotta take the bull by the horns…even if you get gored a little bit, you’ll still feel better about having taken on AND finishing said task.

Leave a Reply

