Nobody’s Perfect

One thing I have learned “is the futility of expecting anyone, including ourselves to be perfect. People who go about seeking to change the world, to diminish suffering, to demonstrate any kind of enlightenment, are often as flawed as anybody else. Sometimes more so. But it is the awareness of having faults, I think, and the knowledge that this links us to everyone on Earth, that opens us to courage and compassion.” Alice Walker

Anyone who knows me knows that I readily proclaim to be a work in progress.  I’m not perfect and don’t claim to be.  I mess up, I make messes, and I get up the next day hopefully with a lesson learned to try all over again.  The struggle comes in our expectation of others doesn’t it?  We know that we are flawed with room for growth yet we sometimes get into situations where we expect the other party to be perfect.  Some of us expect the other person to not only be perfect themselves but also to help us fix our mess.  Hmmm

The great news is as Alice Walker stated- everyone is flawed and it is our flaws that make us human and help us to join forces in this life experience.  We must learn to see the best in people not focus on their shortcomings, forgive mistakes for we too will make them, and recognize that most people are trying really hard to do and be their best.  The trying may not be  in all areas but it is certainly in some.  What a wonderful and comforting thought it is to know that someone else understands your trials for they too have rowed in the same boat.  As I slip up and sometimes expect perfection in others, I’m taking a moment to remind myself that we are all evolving masterpieces.  Hopefully some of us will be “ready” in time to show ourselves in the same show.

My daily reflection revolves around the following quote: “I am beneath or above no one.  When I am independent of the good or bad opinions of others, I stand strong in my own divine power.”  The power of this quote in my life has been amazing.  Things and people who used to throw me for a loop are met with a chuckle.  I don’t need the approval of others to shine.  I got this, and if I stumble and fall I got that too.  Understanding the force of my own divine power is truly amazing.  Now to apply that same theory to my understanding of others… I’m working on it really hard.  I’m a work in progress.

Spread love… peace and blessings.

2 thoughts on “Nobody’s Perfect

  1. I struggle with this daily on my commutes to and from work. Why can’t people learn to drive like me?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

