Are You Living The Life You Envisioned For Yourself?

It’s that time of year.  The college applications have been submitted or are in their final stages of preparation. High school seniors around the country await the offers of acceptance or rejection. What an exciting period of life.  I am known to state that my years at Florida A&M University represent some of the best years of my life (also some of the worst but somehow the good way overshadows the bad).  It was the time in which I came into my own as a woman and also respresented a time of great promise.  What would the future hold?  What would I “be” once I graduated?  How would I make my mark on the world?

Well, it has been a few years since my college days (there’s really no need to count how many 🙂 ) and a question on a fellow classmate’s Facebook page raised a good question today. Are you where you thought you would be in college?  Are you happy with your life’s accomplishments?

For me I guess the best answer (other than “not yet”) is yes and no.  I am not where I thought I would be because I didn’t have a clear focus and direction on where I WANTED to be.  All I knew was that I wanted to graduate and earn a decent living.  In retrospect, I realize this lack of clear focus may have lead to my wandering through my adult years.  Even at my age of 29+ I still don’t fully know what I want to be when I grow up.  Yes, I have ideas.  The challenge is that I have so MANY ideas that it is difficult for me to limit my focus to just one 0r two.

I am, however, pleased with my non-occupational accomplishments. I have two wonderful children who are well adjusted, well behaved, independent thinking, highly intelligent people. They do very well in school and are much more socially well adjusted than I think I was at their respective ages (11,15).  I am also proud of my personal growth.  I am not comfortable just existing and work hard at living life in a positive, loving manner. I don’t always excel, but I certainly make the effort.

Here’s the light at the end of the tunnel for me.  There are a number of very accomplished people whose accomplishments came late in life.  Some of us take longer than others to find our true calling and some of us walk less traveled roads.  I know that I have a lot of life ahead of me.  Thus, though I am not yet where I want to be (especially financially) there is hope for the future.  I simply have to go get it.

I do recognize that not everyone chooses or needs to take the college route.  There are many wonderful paths to take in life.  The question still remains.  So, whether you were college bound or road of life bound: are you living the live you envisioned?

I really look forward to your responses to this question.

Spread love… peace and blessings.

Leave a Reply

