Sometimes You Just Have To Be There

There are certain points in time, certain incidents in life, when you just have step up and do what you have to do.  Not for the fame, not for the glory, not because of what anyone will say about it either positively or negatively.  You just have to do what you have to do.

I have encountered several of these points in the recent decade.  I take this as an indication that I am definitely growing older. I stepped up to help care for my grandmother for the 4 yrs prior to her death in 2010.  Today my mom underwent knee replacement surgery.  We were at the hospital at 8:45 for a surgery that was scheduled for 10:30.  It took place at 2:00.  To say it was a long day was an understatement. But the fact of the matter is that I am my mom’s only child.  Because she is a widow, I am also her next of kin.  I needed to be there and I will need to be there on a very regular basis for the next 8 weeks as she recuperates.  Sometimes you just have to be there.

What I most appreciate, in the times where you are being where you need to be, is there are those who are there for you.  My cousin, knowing I had been at the hospital all day flying solo, dropped by to see her aunt and to bring me dinner. I had friends who checked in to see how I was doing and spend some phone time with me,  and my real and cyber friends, on both Facebook and Twitter, sent words of encouragement all day as well as offered up much appreciated prayers.  I had to be where I had to be but you all chose to be there for me.  For this I am beyond grateful.  In trying times, you see who really has your back.  They show you in a multitude of ways. Thank you for being there!

Spread love… peace and blessings.

 

Leave a Reply

