There Is Nothing To Fear But Fear Itself

I don’t know if you believe in: divine intervention, the universe working in your favor, or things happening as they should, but I do.  I believe that God/the universe brings you what you need when you need it. A more religious way of putting this is “he may not come when you want him, but he’s always right on time.”  Again, this is something that I believe in; or is it?

When we believe something don’t we accept it as true and thus not worry about the validity of it?  Case in point, if I do in fact believe that the sky is blue do I spend all day contemplating whether the sky is indeed blue or is it really white with blue contrasts?  A bit of an extreme example but you get where I’m going here.  The sky is blue.  There is no need to spend time in contemplation of that – NEXT!!

So, if I indeed believe that the universe ultimately always works in my favor why do I lose sight of that fact so easily?  Why when confronted with stressful situations do I lose sight of what I believe in and go to the “other side.”  I’ll tell you.  It’s fear.  Fear is a powerful drug.  What else can you call something that allows you to mentally distort reality?

Last week was quite challenging for me.  I had to navigate some uncharted seas as well as swim in bodies of water that I try to avoid.  The long and the short of it is that by Friday night/early Saturday morning I was done for.  The wind was definitely out of my sails.  I was feeling alone and overwhelmed.  At that moment, I believe, God stepped in to prove me wrong.  It was the equivalent of an invisible tap on the shoulder.  One that said “hey hey little girl, why do you think you have to take care of all of this on your own?  I’ve got it and I’ve got you.  Here’s a bit of proof.”

Why am I sharing this with you today?  Well I just finished speaking with a family member who was sharing some of her current events with me.  She has been struggling with the aftermath of a major life event for some years now.  As I listened to her speak, I heard one thing in volumes- there is a lot of fear there.  We all have it in some way, shape, or form.  The degree to which we let it affect us is what some of us need to work on.  I know that there are some things I should legitimately fear.  Heck, we all watch the news.  But, I am vowing here and now that I will give my very best to not allowing fear to affect my beliefs in the things that I know are true.  Fear can cause worry, stress, and ultimately illness.  Often times, the very thing we fear never happens.  And if it does, the results are rarely as bad as we thought they would be.

So I’m getting aboard the train.  The train of not allowing my fears to overpower my beliefs, the train of self-determination and healing, the train of “I can do all things…”  It’s a big car.  First class ride.  There’s plenty of room for other passengers.  Here’s your ticket- already paid for.  Are you coming?

 

Spread love…peace and blessings.

 

2 thoughts on “There Is Nothing To Fear But Fear Itself

  1. “Do not be afraid” is a phrase you will find in the bible many times. Why do you think God would use this phrase so often? God knows our human minds need reassurance in order to develop faith. Faith keeps us moving forward when fear holds us back. There are many times when we must step out in faith even when our knees are knocking. God will see us through everything we face even if the outcome is not what we hoped for. I have had many experiences in my life that I got through purely by the grace of God. I can assure you clinging to God is way better than trying to go it alone. Trust and obey, for there’s no other way.

Leave a Reply

